

DEREK KRIGE MEDAL 2017

The Derek Krige Medal is awarded in recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of technical support to marine science in South Africa. The award of this medal serves to emphasize the valuable contribution to marine science made by those who provide the technical and logistical support services that make research possible. The award is made under the auspices of the South African Network for Coastal and Oceanic Research (SANCOR).

Past recipients of this medal are:

Mr NK Kistnasamy and Mr A Robertson	1996
Mr P Malan and Mr C Wainman	1999
Ms S du Plessis and Mr C Wilke	2002
Mr M Meyer	2005
Ms A Plos	2008
Miss Sharon Du Plessis	2014
Mr Rob Cooper	2014

The medal will be presented at the banquet evening of the 16th Southern African Marine Science Symposium which will be held in Port Elizabeth, 4-7 July 2017.

NOMINATION PROCESS

To nominate a candidate for the Derek Krige Medal kindly e-mail the following to sancor@daff.gov.za:

- 1) a completed nomination form and
- a current CV of the nominee. The proposer is advised to request a current CV from the nominee.

The closing date for submissions is **28 February 2017**. Please call the secretariat on 021 402 3536 if you have not received an acknowledgement of your submission within 3 days.

REGULATIONS FOR THE MEDAL

1. The following criteria may be considered when awarding the medal but nominees need not necessarily meet all criteria:

- a) Development and application of techniques, equipment and/or systems that represent advances in marine science, marine technology, aquariology or mariculture.
- Exceptional and innovative contributions to formal and informal training and/or capacity building of those involved in marine science and technology.
- c) A person who has, through their technical skills, been able to advance significantly excellence in the field of marine science in South Africa.
- 2. Nominations for the Derek Krige Medal shall be called for through the SANCOR as well as via other media. Proposers should submit motivations in support of their nominee for the medal. All South African marine science institutions and *bona fide* marine scientists/technicians shall be granted the opportunity to nominate candidates for the award.
- 3. An Awards Committee of five shall be established by the SANCOR Steering Committee and shall consist of one past recipient and additional members which shall not be past recipients. A rotation of past recipients shall be implemented and a written report of the deliberations of the Committee is to be kept. The Chair of the Awards Committee shall be a senior marine science technician/scientist. The Awards Committee shall meet to conduct its business if possible. However, e-mail correspondence may be used.
- 4. In judging, the Awards Committee should give primary attention to the contributions made by each candidate in the ten years preceding the awarding of the medal, but contributions during earlier years may also be taken into consideration. If the Awards Committee considers that there is no candidate of a sufficiently high standard, it may, at its discretion, recommend that no award be made. It must be noted that the medal is not a long service award and that excellence must have been achieved in one or more of the criteria.
- 5. Upon reaching a decision, the Awards Committee shall submit its recommendation for the medalist for that year or may recommend that no medal be awarded.
- 6. The Awards Committee shall be appointed for one award period only.
- 7. The medal shall not be awarded more frequently than every three years.
- 8. Past recipients are eligible for nomination on new work three years or more after receiving the award if the renomination application provides evidence of exceptional progress made beyond the date of the previous award.
- 9. The award recognizes excellence in operational work and is not directed at academia.