

GILCHRIST MEMORIAL MEDAL 2017

The Gilchrist Memorial Medal was established in 1987 by the old SANCOR (South African National Committee for Oceanographic Research) in association with the South African Marine Corporation Limited (Safmarine) to be awarded to distinguished marine scientists. The Medal serves as recognition of the recipients' contributions to marine science, to further stimulate excellence in South African marine science, and to focus attention on South Africa's marine and coastal environments.

Past recipients of this medal are:

Prof John Day	1987	Prof Tom Hecht	2002
Dr Vere Shannon		Prof Les Underhill	
Prof John Field	1990	Dr Philippe Cury	
Prof Roy Siegfried		Dr Pierre Freon	
Prof George Branch	1993	Dr Claude Roy	
Dr Larry Hutchings		Prof Peter Best	2005
Prof Anton McLachlan		Prof Alan Whitfield	2008
Prof Alec Brown	1996	Dr Leonard Compagno	
Prof Johann Lutjeharms		Prof Christopher McQuaid	2011
Prof Doug Butterworth		Prof Coleen Moloney	2014
Dr Rob Crawford	1999	Prof Mark Gibbons	

The medal will be presented at the banquet evening of the 16th Southern African Marine Science Symposium which will be held in Port Elizabeth, 4-7 July 2017.

NOMINATION PROCESS

To nominate a candidate for the Gilchrist Medal kindly e-mail the following to sancor@daff.gov.za:

1) a completed nomination form and

2) a current CV of the nominee (no longer than 25 pages). The proposer is advised to request a current CV from the nominee.

The closing date for submissions is **28 February 2017**. Please call the secretariat on 021 402 3536 if you have not received an acknowledgement of your submission within 3 days.

REGULATIONS FOR THE MEDAL

- 1. The Medal shall be awarded for outstanding contribution to the enhancement of marine and coastal science in South Africa, including the Southern Ocean.
- 2. Such contribution shall normally (but not exclusively) be a significant, published scientific work or works to the advancement of science in the marine and coastal environment.
- 3. The award shall be open to any person meeting the above requirements, and shall not be restricted to South African residents.
- 4. Nominations for the Gilchrist Memorial Medal shall be called for through the SANCOR Newsletter as well as via other media. Proposers should submit a nominee for the Medal. In effect, all South African marine science institutions and *bona fide* professional marine scientists shall be granted the opportunity to nominate candidates for the award.
- 5. An Awards Committee shall be established by the SANCOR Steering Committee and consist of 5 persons. These shall include two past recipients and one member of the SANCOR Steering Committee and shall include a biological scientist, a physical scientist and a researcher within the field of Humanities. The Awards Committee shall meet to conduct its business and a written report of its deliberations is to be kept. The Chair shall be a senior distinguished scientist who has knowledge of South African marine science.
- 6. In judging, the Awards Committee should give attention to the lifetime contribution by each candidate but with particular focus on the five years immediately preceding the Award. If, during the period of the award, the Awards Committee considers that there is no candidate of a sufficiently high standard, it may, at its discretion, recommend that no award be made.
- 7. Upon reaching a decision, the Awards Committee shall submit its recommendation for the medalist for that year, submit more than one name if it finds difficulty in reaching a decision, or recommend that no Medal be awarded.
- 8. The Awards Committee shall be appointed for one award period only.
- 9. The Medal shall not normally be awarded more frequently than every three years. More than one Medal may be awarded at a time.
- 10. It is a condition that recipients of the Medal must deliver a Gilchrist Lecture at an agreed SANCOR event.